Outdoor Club of East York

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

OCEY Hiking

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Hiking, nature walks, camping and lodge trips are scheduled throughout the year in areas near Toronto and further afield.

Many outings are single day trips departing in carpools on weekend mornings from the East York Community Centre (in east-end Toronto).

We generally have a once-a-month hours evening hike/walk with pub or restaurant stop after.

Hikes vary in length and difficulty, and day hikes usually include a stop for lunch on the trail.

Nature walks cover less ground but enjoy more stops to look at nature.

Message from the Hiking Coordinator 

This has been a wonderful fall for hiking, with lovely sunny days and beautiful fall colours. We had some new hike leaders with new ideas for wilderness hikes and urban walks.

This winter you will find many activities to keep you active and outdoors until spring arrives, from hikes and urban walks to mid-week ice skating and snowshoeing events. At the beginning of April and May, there will be beginner hikes designed for members who are new to hiking. It will be an opportunity to do a shorter hike to meet club members, and to learn about footwear, gear, and places to hike. There is something for everyone to enjoy.

Thank you to all of the members who have led hikes and urban walks over the past year. The volunteer leaders make OCEY such a great club. We need more of you. If you are interested in leading a hike or an urban walk, please contact me at Tom Oxby or 416-425-4717 to explore the possibility further.                            

For detailed information and policies on hiking levels, guests, safety, what to bring, etc. Please see Hiking Information.

Tom



Upcoming events

Saturday, December 14, 2019 10:00 AM • Scarborough Guildwood
Saturday, December 21, 2019 9:30 AM • Halton Hills
Thursday, January 09, 2020 10:00 AM • Mt Albert Road, Holland Landing
Sunday, January 19, 2020 11:00 AM • Entrance of the park on Bloor St. and High Park Ave.
Sunday, January 26, 2020 11:00 AM • tba
Sunday, February 02, 2020 11:00 AM • Glen Major Forest - Westney Rd. parking lot
Sunday, February 16, 2020 11:00 AM • Meet 11am St. Clair subway station (on Yonge St corner St. Clair E.)
Thursday, February 20, 2020 10:00 AM • Brawton Drive, Palgrave
Sunday, March 01, 2020 10:30 AM • Long Sault Conservation Area
Friday, March 20, 2020 7:00 PM • S. Walter Stewart Library
Saturday, March 21, 2020 10:00 AM • Verona Ontario, Near Frontenac Park
Saturday, March 28, 2020 9:00 AM • EYCC parking lot
Friday, April 24, 2020 12:00 PM • Algonquin Provincial Park
Thursday, July 16, 2020 • Avalon Peninsula, Newfoundland
Thursday, July 23, 2020 • Newfoundland
Thursday, July 30, 2020 • Cape Breton Highlands National Park
 
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software