Outdoor Club of East York

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

OCEY Hiking

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Hiking, nature walks, camping and lodge trips are scheduled throughout the year in areas near Toronto and further afield.

Many outings are single day trips departing in carpools on weekend mornings from the East York Community Centre (in east-end Toronto).

We generally have a once-a-month hours evening hike/walk with pub or restaurant stop after.

Hikes vary in length and difficulty, and day hikes usually include a stop for lunch on the trail.

Nature walks cover less ground but enjoy more stops to look at nature.

Message from the Hiking Coordinator (Nov 2016)

This has been a wonderful fall for hiking, with lovely sunny days and beautiful fall colours. We had some new hike leaders with new ideas for wilderness hikes and urban walks.

This winter you will find many activities to keep you active and outdoors until spring arrives, from hikes and urban walks to mid-week ice skating and snowshoeing events. At the beginning of April and May, there will be beginner hikes designed for members who are new to hiking. It will be an opportunity to do a shorter hike to meet club members, and to learn about footwear, gear, and places to hike. There is something for everyone to enjoy.

The club will again offer a hike leader training session on January 25th for members who want to learn more about leading hikes and/or urban walks.

Thank you to all of the members who have led hikes and urban walks over the past year. The volunteer leaders make OCEY such a great club. We need more of you. If you are interested in leading a hike or an urban walk, please contact me at maureen.mcfarland@gmail.com or 416-489-3703 to explore the possibility further.                            

For detailed information and policies on hiking levels, guests, safety, what to bring, etc. Please see Hiking Information.

Maureen



Upcoming events

Saturday, August 18, 2018 • Guelph Arboretum
Sunday, August 19, 2018 • Lake Superior Provincial Park
Sunday, September 16, 2018 10:00 AM • Halton Conservation Areas
Saturday, September 22, 2018 10:30 AM • Long Sault Conservation Area
Thursday, September 27, 2018 • Killbear Provincial Park
Saturday, October 06, 2018 • St. Jacobs
Sunday, October 07, 2018 • Waterdown Bruce Trail section
Tuesday, October 09, 2018 • Woolner House at Nordic Highlands
Sunday, October 14, 2018 9:00 AM • Silver Creek
Saturday, October 20, 2018 • Forks of Credit Provincial Park
Saturday, October 27, 2018 •
Friday, November 02, 2018 • Algonquin Park & Oxtongue Lake
Sunday, November 11, 2018 9:00 AM • Mono cliffs
Thursday, November 15, 2018 7:00 PM • S.Walter Stewart Library
Saturday, November 24, 2018 9:30 AM • Dundas Valley
 
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software